PiBoIdMo 2012

Forgive my relative silence in the blogosphere.  The last few months have been a whirlwind with some interesting consulting gigs, morphing a monstrous dissertation into manageable manuscript, developing conference proposals, and keeping up with a now-walking one year old boy.

I’m about to embark on a fun journey in the month of November.  I’ve never fancied myself a fiction fan – not to mention a fiction writer, but children’s literature is another story.  I cannot get enough of it, and I’ve frequently thought to myself, “Now THERE’s an idea for a children’s book” when I’ve encountered something whimsical in everyday living.

Some of my aspiring novelist friends have participated in NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month – as a means of inspiration, exercise and accountability.  I cheer them on, but never participate.  Again, a novel isn’t my thing.

But a friend of mine introduced me to PiBoIdMo – Picture Book Idea Month – created by children’s book author Tara Lazar.  The challenge is simply to generate 30 ideas for children’s books in 30 days.  And for the first time, I’m in!  I’m all in.

More than likely the resulting file will be for my eyes only, but if I ever strike gold – ala If You Give a Mouse a Cookie or Where the Sidewalk Ends or The Napping House or Llama Llama Red Pajama, remember it all started here.

Feel free to join as well!  Deadline for registration is November 4th.

Comments? I'd love your two cents...

